Mass were formed came from Boston, MA in the height of 80’s metal mania. Though they were formed in the early 80’s, signed to a big label by 1982, and recorded with a well known producer, their first album was not released. Originally called Axes, they changed their name to Mass after some legal problems. Mass finally released their first self-titled, self-financed EP in 1985. The EP sold so well that the band was soon signed to RCA Records and their first official full length album “New Birth” was released. MASS is: Gene D’itria: Guitars, Joey “Vee” Vadala: Drums, Louis D’ Augusta: Vocals and new bassist Michael Palumbo: Bass who replaced original bassist Kevin Varrio.

In 1982, “Mass” signed their first record deal with A&M records and recorded what was to be there first major release. The album was never released due to the strained relationship between A&M and the band’s current manager.  Once free from any legal obligations the band returned to the studio in 1984 to release“MASS” their first self titled EP. The EP sold over 10,000 copies in the Boston area alone, and was enough to get record companies’ attention once again.  In 1985, the band was signed to RCA records and released their first major label debut, “New Birth”, produced by Tony Platt. The 45 single, “Do You Love Me”, was number one for over six weeks at many radio stations along the east coast. The video for that single was also in rotation on MTV and hit Billboard’s charts. In 1987, “MASS” was signed to Enigma records and released their third album/CD, “Take You Home”, produced by John Rollo and “MASS”. This record/CD sold tens of thousands in the United States as well as England, Japan, and other countries around the world. In 1988, “MASS” released their fourth record/CD,” “Voices in the Night”, on Enigma records. Michael Sweet of the band “Stryper” was the producer. Again, this CD sold well all over the world. Songs such as “Reach for the Sky, Turn it all around” and “Voices in the Night” were available as CD singles. Songs from this CD also appeared on various compilation CD’s. That same year, “MASS” was nominated for ‘Best Heavy Metal Act’ at the Boston Music Awards.

In January of 2007, “MASS” signs a new three album record deal with European label Escape Music out of London.   The first new world wide release is calledMASS “Crack of Dawn”, followed by “Sea Of Black” and was released on April 23, 2010.

In 2011 The band was awarded the “Legend Award” by Limelight Magazine and has played to many sold out shows alongside Stryper, Jackyl and Cinderella. Louis St. August wins male Vocalist of the year by Limelight Magazine & there worldwide voters in 2012.

They are currently in the Studio working on their next CD.

Published On: June 21, 2016

Have a memory to share? Let us know below!